CSK can retain MS Dhoni for IPL 2018

The player retention guidelines for upcoming IPL season has been announced by IPL Committee and Chennai has lot to cheer for.

All the eight teams that will take part in IPL 2018 – Chennai Superkings (CSK), Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), Delhi Daredevils (DD), Rajasthan Royals (RR), Mumbai Indians (MI), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) – can retain up to a maximum of five players. The team can retain a maximum of 3 capped Indian players. No team can retain more than 2 overseas or more than 2 uncapped Indian players.

In what is considered a good news for CSK, the team can retain 5 players who were part of the team in IPL 2015 and players who were part of RPS and GL squads in IPL 2017. This means that if any player was not a part of CSK or RR in 2015, they will go straight to auction pool.

Chennai’s favorite and CSK captain in 2015 outing, MS Dhoni, thus, qualifies to be retained in the CSK squad for IPL 2018. Dhoni was part of RPS in IPL 2017.