15 New locations added to Chennai Corporation’s bicycle sharing system

Chennai corporation’s bicycle sharing system will be adding 150 smart bikes to its fleet and also expanding to 15 new locations in the city within the time frame of two weeks. Corporation officials told the Hindu that the Kilpauk, Egmore, Nehru Park, AG-DMS and Teynampet Metro stations will also get the cycle sharing system to help improve the last-mile connectivity.

This cycle sharing system that was inaugurated by Chief Minister, Edappadi K Palaniswami on February 28th this year at present operates a fleet of 250 bicycles. The system is now functional in Anna Nagar, Shenoy Nagar and the Marina Beach areas.
Officials have also stated that electric bicycles will be added to the existing fleet by the end of August. These cycles with motors of varying capacity can function at the speed of 25 to 32 kilometres per hour, but still requires riders to pedal.

According to data available with the city cooperation, the cycle sharing system has recorded 12,728 rentals from April 1 to May 5.

New locations to be added are listed below:

Indira Nagar MRTS (near exit gate)
Kasturibai Nagar MRTS (near Madhya Kailash signal)
Thiruvanmiyur MRTS (on footpath below flyover bridge)
Ramakrishna Mission School (opposite Pondy Bazaar police station)
Pedestrian Plaza (In front of Big Bazaar and Globus)
Teynampet Metro station (opp A3 entrance)
AG-DMS Metro (In front of A1 entrance)
GN Chetty Road (In front of Jeeva Park and opposite Bharathiraja Hospital)
Egmore Metro station (back entrance)
Kilpauk Metro station (In front of A2 entrance)
Nehru Park Metro
GCC Ripon Building parking area